Iona MBB's English, Laury Lou Henson Finalists, NABC All-District

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Iona MBB's English, Laury Lou Henson Finalists, NABC All-District

March 29, 2015 - 15:59
Posted in:
Rate Article: 
Your rating: None
No votes yet

NEW ROCHELLE, NY- Iona College men's basketball junior guard A.J. English and senior forward David Laury were named 2015 Lou Henson All-America, finalists for the Lou Henson Award, as well as being named NABC Division I All District First Team. English and Laury are the only teammates on the list for the Lou Henson Award out of the 31 finalists named.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually by to the Mid-Major player in division I college basketball. The finalists for the award also represent the Lou Henson All-America team.

The award is named in honor of Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The 2015 recipient will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Apr. 3 in Indianapolis, site of the 2015 NCAA Championship.

Joining Laury and English on the NABC Division I All-District First Team are fellow MAAC players Zaid Hearst from Quinnipiac, Emmy Andujar from Manhattan as well as Jameel Warney from the America East's Stony Brook.


  • Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State
  • D.J. Balentine, Evansville
  • John Brown, High Point
  • Julius Brown, Toledo
  • Jalen Cannon, St Francis Brooklyn
  • Karl Cochran, Wofford
  • AJ English, Iona
  • Kahlil Felder, Oakland
  • Chris Fowler, Central Michigan
  • Ty Greene, USC Upstate
  • Tyler Harvey, Eastern Washington
  • Corey Hawkins, UC Davis
  • Tyler Haws, BYU
  • R.J. Hunter, Georgia State
  • John Jordan, Texas A&M Corpus Christi
  • David Laury, Iona
  • Shawn Long, UL Lafayette
  • Mikh McKinney, Sacramento State
  • Justin Moss, Buffalo
  • Mike Myers, UMES
  • Saah Nimley, Charleston Southern
  • Wesley Saunders, Harvard
  • Justin Sears, Yale
  • Keifer Sykes, Green Bay
  • Marcus Thornton, William and Mary
  • Corey Walden, Eastern Kentucky
  • Brad Waldow, Saint Mary's
  • Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin
  • Jameel Warney, Stony Brook
  • Jalen West, Northwestern State
  • Alan Williams, UC Santa Barbara



First Team

  • David Laury, Iona
  • A.J. English, Iona
  • Emmy Andujar, Manhattan
  • Jameel Warney, Stony Brook
  • Zaid Hearst, Quinnipiac

Second Team

  • Sam Rowley, Albany
  • Matt Lopez, Rider
  • Ousmane Drame, Quinnipiac
  • Chavaughn Lewis, Marist
  • Justin Robinson, Monmouth