New Rochelle Police Department Memorial & Awards Ceremony

Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

New Rochelle Police Department Memorial & Awards Ceremony

May 20, 2016 - 10:01

New Rochelle Police Department Memorial & Awards Ceremony

Rate Article: 
Your rating: None
No votes yet

NEW ROCHELLE, NY -- In observance of National Police Week, the New Rochelle Police Department held its annual Memorial and Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 18 at the Greentree Country Club. The event honored department members for their outstanding contributions as well as the memory of those officers who sacrificed their lives in the service to the City. This year’s keynote speaker was New York City Detective Steve McDonald. In 1986, Detective Steve McDonald was shot in the line of duty by a teenage gunman and became paralyzed from the neck down. Today, he is a renowned speaker regarding gun violence and the power of forgiveness. To learn more about Detective Steven McDonald’s story click here.

“This is a special day of the year when the police and community get together to remember our fallen heroes and honor those officers who served the community in an exemplary fashion.”, said New Rochelle Police Commissioner Patrick Carroll.

Police Officer of the Year was presented to Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo and Community Service Officer William Berry was named Civilian Employee of the Year. Nearly 100 members of the department were recognized for their heroic accomplishments and for the extraordinary work they do for our community.

City Manager Chuck B. Strome presented an award to three elementary students for their Police Memorial Essays. First place winner, Stephen Philippeav from Trinity Elementary school read his winning piece.                                                                                                                          NRPD  Memorial and Award Ceremony Photo Album

Recipients of Awards

Police Memorial Essay Award

Stephen Philippeav, Trinity Elementary School

1st Place

Justin Friedberg, Davis Elementary School

2nd Place

Natalie M. Chang, Ward Elementary School

3rd Place

Arthur Luce Klein Award

Detective Christopher Greco

Eugene Frank Problem Solving Award

Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo

New Rochelle Municipal Housing Authority Recognition Award

Police Officer Michael Vaccarro

New Rochelle Chamber of Commerce Investigator Award

Detective Vincent Pisano

Empress Ambulance Lifesaving Award

Detective Thomas Raptis                              Police Officer Emily Hirshowitz

One-Year Attendance Award

Sergeant Robert LaBarbera                         Police Officer Raymond Beckley

Sergeant Justin Wilson                                  Police Officer Michael Dassler

Detective Dario Navarrete                           Police Officer Edison Gramajo

Detective Vincent Pisano                             Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo

Police Officer Michael Alberico                  Police Officer Carlos Jimenez

Two-Year Attendance Award

Detective Yadilene Machado                      Police Officer Scott Wallach

Detective Michael Regina                             Police Officer Nicholas Zuzulo

Four-Year Attendance Award

Lieutenant Gary Robinson                           Police Officer Anthony D’Angelo

Detective Gregory Herring                           Police Officer Anthony Colotti

Five-Year Attendance Award

Lieutenant Christopher Hearle                   Detective Luigi Amico

Sergeant Myron Joseph

Six-Year Attendance Award

Deputy Police Commissioner Joseph Schaller

Seven-Year Attendance Award

Police Officer Gary Lehning

Eight-Year Attendance Award

Police Officer Francesco Provenzale

Nine-Year Attendance Award

Lieutenant Daniel Conca                               Detective Claudio Carpano

Eleven-Year Attendance Award

Police Commissioner Patrick Carroll         Detective Michael Ciafardini

Lieutenant Edward Hayes

Twelve-Year Attendance Award

Sergeant Robert Torr

Lifesaving Award

Lieutenant Daniel Conca                               Police Officer DeCarlo

Lieutenant William Odell                               Police Officer Emily Hirshowitz

Sergeant Joseph Salerno                              Police Officer David McCullough (2)

Detective Thomas Raptis                              Police Officer Jason Redner

Police Officer Timothy Childs                      Police Officer Lane Schlesinger

Commendation Award

Lieutenant J. Collins Coyne                          Police Officer Paul D’Erasmo

Lieutenant Brian Fagan (2)                           Police Officer Jose Diaz

Lieutenant Edward Hayes (2)                      Police Officer Edison Gramajo

Detective Michael Bota                                 Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo

Detective Vincent Marion                            Police Officer Daniel Maldonado

Detective Glen Spinner                                 Police Officer Jason Redner

Detective Kevin Waldron                              Police Officer Marc Weinerman (2)

Class C Citation

Lieutenant Neil Reynolds                             Police Officer Paul D’Erasmo

Sergeant Adam Castiglia                               Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo

Sergeant Richard Gargan                              Police Officer Vincent Marco

Sergeant Justin Wilson                                  Police Officer Matthew Rice

Detective Timothy Adrian                            Police Officer Jason Redner

Detective Dario Navarrete                           Police Officer Juan Torres

Detective Joseph Savoca                              Police Officer Marc Weinerman

Police Officer Raymond Beckley                Police Officer Giselle Wilson

Police Officer Stephen Correale

Certificate of Appreciation

Assistant Harbor Master Alexianna Campagnola

Unit Citation

Lieutenant Brian Fagan                                  Detective Yadilene Machado

Detective Sean Kane                                      Detective Vincent Marion

Detective Dwayne Jones

Civilian Employee of the Year

Community Service Officer William Berry 

Police Officer of the Year

Police Officer Christopher Guglielmo

Police Commissioner’s Award

Police Officer Melissa Diniz

Police Officer Juan Torres

Police Officer Richard Marchetti

Police Officer Michael Vaccaro